Let’s Get Underway!!

Let’s Get Underway!!

So this blog is based on a little book called 1,001 Real-Life Questions for Women: A Self-Exploration Workbook to Make You Laugh, Cry, Ponder, Ruminate, & Consider. And it literally contains 1,001 questions.

The first question many people ask me is, “How did you come up with the idea for the book?” I’ll tell you – but it’s a realllllly goofy story.

The time: March 2001. (Did I mention this book has been a long time coming?)

The place: my bathroom.

One morning, I was looking at my reflection in the mirror as I brushed my teeth. To my horror, I noticed a pimple on the very tip of my nose – the most inconcealable place possible. Bemoaning the fact that at the age of 33, I still got the occasional zit, I looked up at the mirror again and discovered that I also had not one, but two, gray hairs!! No way! Acne is the curse of the young, and gray hair speaks one word to me: OLD.

How ironic! I’m wasn’t really young anymore, but I certainly was not yet old – and still I had these two antithetical things happening at the same time. So I wondered, at that moment, how many other women were, that very day, experiencing this same exact age-related experience.

As I went through my day, I continued to wonder whether other women were having similar experiences to mine. Out of that wondering came other questions. And out of those questions came the idea for this book.

The plan for this blog is to examine the power and process of asking and answering questions – as well as exploring the actual questions from the book. The questions came, in large part, out of my personal experiences, prejudices, understandings, and philosophies. I am under no illusion that I hit every question concerning the integral aspects of being a woman in America today. I tried to cover all the bases, but certainly there is the possibility that I missed what you may consider an obvious question. In that case, I ask you please let me know. Perhaps your questions could formulate the makings of 1,001 Real-Life Questions for Women: Questions from the Readers.

The bottom line is that I have learned not to bother trying to please all of the people even some of the time. It never works. Certainly there are folks out there who will find these questions too personal, too graphic, too general, too specific, too pointless, too thought-provoking, too silly, too something. The fact is that nothing in life is off-limits, so nothing in this book is off-limits, either. Consider yourself warned.

Just to give you a sample of what’s coming, here are the questions from the first page of the book.

1. Do you brush your teeth every night before bed? Do you floss?
         
2. Do you wash your hands after you go to the bathroom? Every time? Does it depend on whether you do #1 or #2? Does it depend on whether it’s the middle of the night? Do you always use soap? Do you notice when people do not wash their hands in a public restroom?

3. How old were you when you first began to notice whether or not the men you met were wearing wedding bands?

4. How much does money motivate your decisions? Are you more price-conscious or more of a spendthrift?

5. How often do you have sex? Is that frequency your choice? Would you prefer to have sex more often? Less often?

6. When was the last time you cleaned out your refrigerator? Have you ever had to throw anything away because it was green/unidentifiable/disgusting? Regularly?

Although these are the first six questions, as we go through them, I’ll select the questions randomly – rather than the order in which they appear in the book. Please feel free to comment, or join our membership site and visit the Forum to read my answers to the questions and add your answers, as well.

I was advised to group the questions into categories, but I chose not to, simply because we do not live our lives in categories. Women, especially, are incredible multi-taskers. However, I did create an index where every question is listed and cross-referenced by subject. Visit the Web site to see a list of all the categories.

Please mark your calendar for next Tuesday, November 16, when Therese Skelly and I will be hosting In All Honesty – a teleconference with two experts speaking on the topics of question-asking and journaling as powerful tools for self-development. Don’t worry if you can’t make the scheduled call time – we will make a recording available to all who register.

About 1001RLQFW

Empowering and uniting women, one question at a time.
This entry was posted in 1001 RLQFW and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Let’s Get Underway!!

  1. FFF Team says:

    Laura,

    Congratulations on launching your blog. I hope it’s a smashing success!

    Steve

Leave a Reply

